Stuff That Works For Me, Part 1: The BCBGeneration Milla Satchel

Standard

So.

I gave in to my lust for a designer handbag.

It could definitely have been a ridiculous thing. It could have been a mistake, a complete waste of money that I absolutely cannot afford to waste.

I’m still cringing over the fact that I gave into my desires, given my precarious financial situation. But give in I did. And for the first time in like, three years, I have no buyer’s remorse whatsoever.

Before I go any further, let me insert a disclaimer here: the only reason I have no buyer’s remorse is because I a) saw the item in person before I bought it (no online purchase here, for once); b) carried it around the store, torn over the price (which was severely discounted only because it was the last one in the store); c) put it back regretfully; d) obsessed over it, looking it up, price-checking, researching the brand; and e) finally went back ten days later, praying it was still there.

It was. (Miracle, riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight??? $108.00 handbag for $31.99? Shooooooot. )

And that bag, in case the title didn’t tip you off, is the BCBGeneration Milla, in the pewter color.

It is not only adorable and satchel-y and doctor-bag-like and designer and trendy, it is the perfect bag for my needs. It’s very roomy, but not at all bulky or awkward. It actually looks a lot smaller than it is (always cool as far as I’m concerned). In addition to the flipover top, it zips completely from side to side. There is a huge interior, with two small holders inside(I use them for my phone and camera) a zippered interior pocket, and a zipperless outer pocket with an opening just
underneath the buckle.

It has an old-timey, doctor-bag/school satchel look to it. Also, be aware that it looks so much better in person than any online photo gives it credit for. In all the photos, it just kind of looks like a fat, lumpy, regular purse with a sky-high degree of “ho-hum”. I have the pewter color (it also comes in black and bronze), which is darker and much more neutral than you’d think. While it doesn’t go with everything, it matches very well with any color in the cooler spectrum. (Not that it matters to me. Come summer, I’ll be toting this puppy with my neon-pink tank top and day-glo shorts. But I know that relatively few people care less than I do.) Throw on a dark coat or pants, and
you’re set.

For the record, I typically carry a digital camera, planner, a book or two, a sketchpad, notebook, pens/pencils, Bamboo tablet, mini netbook, and a handful of miscellaneous items with no visible strain. It would also probably work as a small overnight bag, depending on what you packed. (But who’d use a designer purse as an overnight bag, right? I mean, besides me.)

As alluded to earlier, I got this item 65% off due to a combination of a pricing error and it already being on sale because it was the last one, of any color, in the store. That said, after owning it for
a while, I believe it’s worth retail (not that I would’ve been able to afford it then, but it’s still worth the price). It’s strong, very well-made, with tight double-stitched seams, and very sturdy in addition to the aesthetic appeal I have not lauded enough. I have no complaints. The Milla is definitely recommended. If you ever have reason to buy one, I hope it works for you, because it definitely worked for me. Because of it, I am officially a BCBGeneration fan. Way to go, expensive labels, seducing girls who have no money to spend.

Leave a Reply

